

The Midwestern Association of Plastic Surgeons In Conjunction with Chicago Medical Society



Presents

54th Annual MAPS Meeting

"Discovery in Plastic Surgery"

Saturday, May 30, 2015

Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Feinberg Pavilion – 3rd Floor Conference Center
251 East Huron Street
Chicago, Illinois

Message from the Program Chair:

The Midwestern Association of Plastic Surgeons (MAPS) is extremely pleased to partner with the esteemed editors of the Annals of Plastic Surgery, Dr. Bill A. Lineaweaver and Ms. Jane Wood, to bring you the inaugural issue of our supplement for the 54th Annual MAPS meeting. We are delighted to highlight the innovations and research advances of the plastic surgery institutions throughout the Midwest. This year we received an unprecedented number of submissions featuring superlative basic science and outcomes research in our region in all areas of plastic surgery: Peripheral Nerve, Tissue Regeneration and Signaling; Cosmetic; Breast; Microsurgery; Craniofacial; General Reconstruction; and Hand and Extremity. Our scientific committee rigorously reviewed all abstracts to select the best science that represents our geographical area. We have put together a remarkable scientific program and paired internationally and nationally known speakers in Rhinoplasty, Body Contouring, Face Transplant and Gender Reassignment to embrace "Discovery in Plastic Surgery," the theme for this year's meeting. We hope you find the Annals of Plastic Surgery Supplement an exciting addition to the 2015 meeting that provides an opportunity to expand your knowledge of ongoing, cutting-edge scientific research in the Midwest region.

Sincerely,

Anu K. Antony, MD, MPH, FACS 2015 MAPS Program Chair

Learning Objectives:

The Midwestern Association of Plastic Surgeons is committed to providing a comprehensive educational opportunity for plastic surgeons in practice and in fellowship or residency training, as well as medical students and other professionals involved in the care of plastic surgery patients. After participating in this educational meeting, attendees will be able to Identify cutting-edge aesthetic technical improvements for the face and body, gain an awareness about advanced techniques in reconstructive plastic surgery including microsurgery innovations for the head and neck, describe advanced techniques for gender reassignment surgery and the psychological aspects of transgender patients.

MAPS Officers 2015

Elected officers for MAPS 54rd year are:

PresidentJohn Hijjawi, MD, FACSPresident ElectRaphael Lee, MD, ScD, FACSProgram Chair/ Vice PresidentAnuja Antony, MD, MPH, FACS

Treasurer Wei F. Chen, MD, FACS **Secretary** Samuel O. Poore, MD, PhD

Members-at-Large David Shifrin, MD

Julie Park, MD

Valerie Lemaine, MD, MPH Michael W. Neumeister, MD

Rajendra R. Shah, MD Steven D. Williams, MD Benjamin Van Raalte, MD

Reuben Bueno, MD

Accreditation Statement

Board of Trustees:

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the Chicago Medical Society and the Midwest Association of Plastic Surgeons. The Chicago Medical Society is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The Chicago Medical Society designates this live activity for a maximum of **8.25** *AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)*TM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

The following planning members of the Chicago Medical Society's CME Committee have disclosed that they do not have any relevant financial relationships with any commercial interests: Ajay Chauhan, MD, Chairman, Howard Axe, MD, Loren Schecter, MD, Vickie Becker, MD, Adrienne L. Fregia, MD, Robert W. Panton, MD, Kathy Tynus, MD, and Haydee Nascimento, Director of Education.

Past Presidents of The Midwestern Association of Plastic Surgeons

- 1961 Hugh A, Johnson, founder
- 1962 John K. Grotting
- 1963 William C. Huffman
- 1964 James F. Dowd
- 1965 Christopher R. Dix
- 1966 Adrian E. Flatt
- 1967 James K. Masson
- 1968 Clarence W. Monroe
- 1969 Richard C. Yee
- 1970 William H. Frackleton
- 1971 Orion H. Stuteville
- 1972 Robert J. Richardson
- 1973 G. William LeWorthy
- 1974 Morrison D. Beers
- 1975 Frederick Weissman
- 1976 A. Bart Lissner
- 1977 Harold J. Hoops, Jr.
- 1978 Gerald D. Nelson
- 1979 Richard C. Schultz
- 1980 Bums G. Newby
- 1981 John P. Docktor
- 1982 Hugh A. Johnson
- 1983 George S. Pap
- 1984 Stuart J.F. Landa
- 1985 Tommy E. Kendall
- 1986 Harold E. Harvey

- 1987 Elvin G. Zook
- 1988 Bryan D. Hubble
- 1989 Andrew E. Stefani
- 1990 Robert W. Parsons
- 1991 William B. Webber
- 1992 Curtis Juhala
- 1993 Mimis Cohen
- 1994 Reid Hansen
- 1995 Albert E. Cram
- 1996 Arlen D. Denny
- 1997 Henry Onken
- 1998-99 John M. Heibert
- 2000 Ian T. Jackson
- 2001 Victor L. Lewis, Jr
- 2002 Bruce S. Bauer
- 2003 Phyillis Chang
- 2004 Richard Tholen
- 2005 William Dzwierzynski
- 2006 Julia Corcoran
- 2007 Michael L. Bentz
- 2008 Joseph Daw, MD, DDS
- 2009 Michael Neumeister, MD
- 2010 Rajendra R. Shah ,MD
- 2011 Steven Williams, MD
- 2012 Benjamin Van Raalte, MD
- 2013 Reuben Bueno, MD

Exhibitors

MAPS would like to thank the following exhibitors for their participation:

Platinum

Allergan LifeCell Corporation Sientra

Gold

Biomet Mentor

Silver

Acell

Baxter

Cynosure Inc

Doctors Direct Insurance Inc

Enaltus

InMode

KLS Martin

Lencioni Surgical LLC

Novadaq

PMT/Permark

Quill and Surgical Specialties Corporation

RTI Surgical Inc.

Stryker

Synovis Micro

Saturday, May 30, 2015

6:30am

Registration & Breakfast Welcome/ **Dr. John Hijjawi, MD**, President 6:55am

Conference Room A	Abstract Presentation Track I	Pritzker Auditorium	Abstract Presentation Track II
7:00am – 7:45am	Peripheral Nerve, Tissue Regeneration & Signaling	7:00am – 7:45am	Craniofacial
8:00am – 8:45am	Cosmetic	8:00am – 8:45am	General Reconstruction
9:00am – 9:20am	Break	9:00am – 9:20am	Break
9:20am – 10:05am	Breast I	9:20am – 10:05am	Microsurgery/Hand & Extremity
10:20am – 10:45am	Breast II/Microsurgery	10:20am – 10:45am	Physician Expertise

The following programs are in Conference Room A

10:50 -10:55am	Remarks / Dr. Anu Antony, MD, MPH, Program Chair		
10:55-11:05am	ASPS Update / Dr. David Song, MD, MBA		
11:05am -12:05	Strategies in Body Contouring / Dr. Joseph Hunstad, MD		
12:15pm-12:30	Group Photos		
12:30pm-1:30	Lunch /Finding a Job After Residency / Dr. Paul Cederna, MD		
1:30pm-2:50	Update in Face Transplantation Panelists: Dr. Eduardo Rodriguez, MD & Dr. Maria Sieminow, MD		
2:50pm-4:00	Rhinoplasty / Dr. Dean Toruimi, MD		
4:00pm-4:20	Cocktails & Snacks		
4:20pm-5:45	Gender Reassignment Panelists: Dr. Bill Kuzon, MD, Dr. Paul Cederna, MD, Dr. Randi Ettner ,MD, and Dr. Larry Gottlieb, MD Moderator: Dr. Loren Schechter, MD		
5:45pm-6:00	President Closing & Awards		